Contouring for Fair Skin

I understand that this post may be a little more ‘niche’ than usual, but not only is finding contour products for pale skin almost impossible, it’s also a problem that I feel I have a lot of knowledge about. As most of you will know, I am THAT pale friend – the one that has to stay on SPF 50 the entire holiday, the one that gets burnt in winter. Now, most contour products, whether they are high end or drugstore, tend to be rather warm-toned even if they are designed for ‘Light’ skin. This proves a biiig problem for the porcelain-skinned, as the it gives an unnatural look; almost like you put bronzer in the wrong place. And trust me, finding cool-toned contour kits is NOT easy… That’s where I come in. In attempt to join the contouring craze of the past few years, I pretty much tried out almost EVERY kit out there, be it £3 or £30, and this is what I’ve found…


My Top Contour Products for Fair Skin

Day to Day

Screen Shot 2016-07-21 at 14.34.17

For a day to day look, you want something a little less dramatic, which equates to ‘a little more blend able’ in makeup talk. Hence, the products that I have selected here are all cream-based products that I love to use for contour. My biggest piece of advice is: don’t worry if it’s intended for contouring or not – don’t be afraid to create a shadow using a deeper foundation or define the cheeks using a cream blush instead.

Clockwise from top left: Rosie for Autograph Cream Blush in Camisole Blush, NYX Sculpt and Highlight Duo in Taupe/IvoryRimmel London Scandal Eyes Shadow Stick in Trespassing TaupeMaybelline Dream Matte Mousse in Cameo.

Going Out

Screen Shot 2016-07-21 at 14.24.56

When you’re going out, that is the time for some serious contouring, like damn, create some killer cheekbones even if they’re not natural. For going out, I find that powders generally work much better; they have a longer lasting-power, especially when set with a setting spray. My all time favourite has got to be NYX HD Blush in Taupe (only £5.50 as well!) – it’s cool toned which works perfectly for super fair skin.

Clockwise from top left: Make-up Geek Break Up, NYX HD Blush in Taupe, ABH Cream Kit in Fair, Barry M Chisel Cheeks


and the worst…

Now, I’m not really one for slating products, as I know that most products perform differently on different skin types and colours, however, below I’ve listed a few pieces that you might want to avoid if you’re pale like me; the following, I find, are simply too warm toned:

Face: NYX Shine Killer Primer, Bareminerals Complexion Rescue in Vanilla, Lancome Teint Idole Ultra 24H, MAC Pro-Longwear Concealer in NW15, Maybelline Fit Me Concealer in 15, NYX HD Blush in Taupe, Benefit Hoola Bronzer, NYX HD Blush in Soft Spoken, Laura Mercier Invisible Pressed Setting Powder, Gerard Cosmetics Star Powder Highlight in Grace, Make-up Revolution Pro Fix Oil Control Setting Spray.

Eyes and Brows: ABH Brow Wiz in Caramel, Benefit Goof Proof Brow Pencil in 2, Benefit High Beam, Too Faced Shadow Insurance, Too Faced Natural Eyes palette, Zoeva Rose Golden Palette, Benefit They’re Real Lash Primer, Icona Milano Emotions Allowed Mascara.

Lips: MAC Lip Liner in Subculture and MAC Kinda Sexy.


What are your must-have contouring products? Let me know in the comments below!

Emilia x

3 thoughts on “Contouring for Fair Skin

  1. Toby February 28, 2017 / 2:38 pm

    Wow! this post was so informative! i loved it. since i am fair skinned contouring by me always ended up looking horrible. so thanks for this! come check out my blog http://www.poshandspicy.com i would love to hear your thoughts xx toby

    Like

Leave a comment