How To Create: The Burgundy Eye

Burgundy? It seems a pretty autumnal colour – don’t get me wrong. And red? On the eyes? A little risky. But, this year, this particular shade of eyeshadow could be seen everywhere; catwalk to red carpet – from Kristen Stewart to Rooney Mara, they just can’t get enough. And the best thing? It seems to work on any skin tone and for any eye colour! Just vary the base tones and strength of colour a tad and ta-dah you’re sorted. However, I understand that make-up and cosmetics in general aren’t quite that simple to all of us, so I’ve created my own little ‘tutorial’, as such, to give you guys some help.


Okay, so, first of all you’ll notice that my version of this look is rather chocolate-toned and subtle – that’s because I’m literally paler than a bed sheet and anything too bold on my eyes looks out of place. Although, if you’re darker than me (which 99% of you probably are), you can have some real fun with this trend. Also, deeper shades of this purpley-red look gorgeous against brown eyes – try MAC Deep Damson or Maybelline Colour Tattoo in Pomegranate Punk. Me? I’ve used the bottom right shade in the Morphe Soul Of Summer Palette over MAC Aromatic and Too Faced Sexpresso ,with the bottom left shade of the Soul of Summer Palette on the lower lid and MAC Kitties to highlight the inner eye. The Morphe Soul of Summer palette is extremely good value for money with buttery, highly pigmented shades. However, MAC is the winner for sparkle power and nothing beats the pigmentation of Too Faced shadows – but I guess you can’t be the best at everything!

Generally, I would suggest going for a smokey, ‘deepest colour at the edges’ approach with the burgundy eye, but I’ve notice that some people simply like to wear one shade all over the lid. Burgundy liner is also a popular choice, as be assured, it’s on my ‘to-try’ list!


As for the rest of my look, I paired the smokey look with a classic winged liner and generous coatings of Revlon Ultra Volume and Chanel Le Volume de Chanel. You can probably tell that my brows are a bit of a funny colour – somewhere in between brown and ginger that no-one really seems to cater for. Anastasia Beverly Hills Brow Wiz in Caramel is a pretty good match, but it’s still a little on the light side, so I darken it up with NYX Brow Gel in Chocolate. The peachy-nude shade on my lips is also a mixture of two colours (I find it really difficult to find the perfect colours of products – can you tell?). This is NYX Soft Matte Lip Cream  in Abu Dhabi mixed with Absolute New York Velvet Lippie in Toasted with MAC Subculture for the lip liner.


What are your thoughts on this summer trend? I’d love to see your versions of the look!

Emilia x

3 thoughts on “How To Create: The Burgundy Eye

  1. Lifestylebites3 May 26, 2016 / 9:49 pm

    This eye makeup look is so popular and unbelievably so gorgeous. Love the combination of rose lips too.

    Like

Leave a Reply

