My Top 10 Hair Products

As many of you may know, hair isn’t exactly my forte – if I was on a hair and beauty course I’d be totally screwed for half of it, to put it bluntly. I usually just leave my hair to kink naturally in a messy bun or french plait it (luckily TONI&GUY’s artistic director, Philipp Haug says this is all the rage this summer) and never really give it too much attention. But, I’ve come to the conclusion that I should give it some attention and that actually, I have quite a bit to say about hair products!

I suffer from a super-sensitive scalp, similar to the way I struggle with sensitive skin. This means I have to be extreeemely careful about what I put on my head, because if I’m honest, I’m not really a great fan of my scalp flaking off everywhere! My scalp has this thing where it sort of gets ‘bored’ of a hair product after anything from 2 days to 6 weeks and so it decides to scab up and flake off in a kind of protest. Gross. I know. For this reason, I try to change up my shampoos etc. regularly, but this can be very expensive and I always run the risk of immediately reacting to a product. Apart from this rather difficult issue, I don’t really have many more… My roots are a little oilier than they used to be, to could be a bit longer and I guess I’d like a little more volume at times, although, in general, when my scalps happy, I’m happy with my hair. Due to this dilemma, over the years I’ve trialled pretty much everything there is out there – and lo-and-behold I’ve managed to stumble over some miracle-workers. Take a look!


1. Label.m Honey and Oat Range

My hairdresser uses this on me every time I go to the salon, because my hair just soaks it up – it moisturises my scalp, combatting any dryness, and soothes split ends. This is my number one go to in the winter if my hair’s really suffering – but I use this only on occasion to prevent the ‘boredom’ issue and also because it’s around £4 per 100ml eek! I would highly recommend looking for products that contain honey and oats if you suffer from dry or over-styled hair.

2. Tigi Bedhead Queen For a Day Thickening Spray

For those days when you need a bit of volume – this is like back-comb in a bottle and I have to say, I rate it much more than Label.m’s version. Mousse and foam aren’t really my thing, so this spray is perfect for you if you don’t like getting your hands dirty. Also, it smells absolutely gorgeous!

3. TONI&GUY Prep Heat Protection Mist

I don’t often actually style my hair, as it’s pretty straight naturally, but it wasn’t until I used this that I realised how damaging blow-drying alone can be! By using this spray, I discovered that it was possible for me to achieve a glossy, non-frizzy blow-dry at home. A must-have for any hair type.

4. Bumble and Bumble

I discovered this gem of a brand when ELLE included a bottle of their surf spray in their monthly magazine. And although I only really used the surf spray when french-plaiting my hair and letting it dry naturally, it was a wonderful product for the summer. Giving a  care-free, volumous, boho-vibe to any hairstyle; it matches well with the soft romantic trends of SS16. Even better for those of you with natural waves, because it will really bring them out. WARNING: all of their lines smell so good that you will want to eat them.

5. Percy and Reed Wonder Balm

This product has probably won more awards in it’s lifetime than Adele. This is my go-to shine treatment when my hairs super dry because it involves absolutely no oiliness without compromising on shine. A leave-in balm that prepares hair for styling, is great for any hair type and doesn’t cause issues for a sensitive scalp – perfecto.

6. Lee Stafford Growth Treatment

To be completely honest with you I thought this product would be a complete waste of my time – nothing can make your hair grow overnight. But I was curious, so upon receiving this for my birthday this year, I gave it a 4 week trial, using it 3 times a week. And, oh my, was I amazed! My hair grew more in that month than it probably did over the entire summer and the best thing was – people NOTICED! Upon looking on the Boots site, it looks like this product actually works for a lot of people, so I’d highly recommend it if you’re trying to grow your hair.

7. TRESemmé Renewal Hair and Scalp Range

TRESemme has been the only ‘supermarket’ hair brand as of yet to leave me with a happy scalp, therefore, it’s my daily product. I adore the thickness of the conditioning products and this particular range, targetted at scalp issues, is my favourite. Silky Smooth and Moisture Rich are great alternatives. If splashing the cash on hair products is a no-no for you, but you still struggle with dryness or sensitivity, I’d recommend using TRESemme, even over things like Neutrogena T-Gel Shampoo, which are aimed specifically at dandruff treatment.

8. L’Oreal Paris Elvive Extraordinary Clay Re-Balancing Range

This one was a total shocker as the rest of the Elvive range causes an almost immediate reaction from my skin, but I have to say, my hair has never felt so clean! I’m well aware of the benefits of clay to the complexion (hence my love for products like Clarins Pure and Radiant Mask), but not to the hair as well – it appears that clay is a serious multi-tasker! L’Oreal’s shampoo is made for oily roots and dry ends, ideal for myself, and it claims to leave scalp feeling fresh and roots lifted for up to 72 hours… Now, that’s a rather big statement to make, but so far, I have to say it’s doing pretty well!

9.  Macadamia Oil

Yet another product that was introduced to me by my hairdresser… The Macadamia range comes with a variety of products, ranging from pure oil to nourishing hair masks and is, once more, designed for dry or damaged hair. Despite coconut oil being a saviour for my skin, I have to say, macadamia oil wins in terms of haircare. Many people love Moroccanoil or argan oil, but for me this is the gold medal product, and it smells lush – bonus!

10. Aveeno Nourish and Moisturise 

Aveeno uses a wheat ingredient to act as the protein-based moisturiser and the blend of natural ingredients is seriously the best way forward for super-sensitive skin. As their skincare range is geared towards sensitivity, their haircare range really focusses on this too. The only issue is, the haircare stuff is pretty hard to find in the UK…


 

What are your go-tos for your ‘do? Do you have any recommendations of products for me to try? Let me know in the comments below!

Emilia x

21 thoughts on “My Top 10 Hair Products

  1. emplicityy April 8, 2016 / 4:55 pm

    A brand I love to use is Syoss. Great styling and hair care products! Shampoo’s are incredible. Love your hair btw xo

    Liked by 1 person

    • emiliahurrell April 15, 2016 / 9:33 pm

      Thankyou so much – it mean incredible amounts to me when people like you take the time to read my posts!xx

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Jessica Jade April 15, 2016 / 3:42 pm

    I use the tresemme when my scalp gets a little sore, it definitely works for me! So does the L’oreal, it’s amazing! And I’m literally going to buy the lee Stafford growth treatment right now! Haha, I never dare try anything incase in just chucking my money away haha!
    Btw you hair looks absolutely gorgeous!

    https://jessicajadebeauty.wordpress.com

    Liked by 1 person

    • emiliahurrell April 15, 2016 / 9:35 pm

      I was very dubious about the growth treatment, but it actually made such a difference to the length of my hair and a whole bunch of people started noticing the difference! Also, it seems to have a pretty good track record online, so hopefully it will work just as well for you! Let me know how it goes!xxx

      Liked by 1 person

      • Jessica Jade April 15, 2016 / 10:57 pm

        I will do, I am seriously excited to try it! Haha, can’t wait!
        Xxx

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

