NYE Make-up Tutorial

As many of you followers would gather from the recent NYE fashion guide, I am a firm believer that NYE is the party night of the year; a night for going all out. So, today, I’m giving you the other side of getting ‘party-prepared’ – the make up. We’re going smokey eye, red lip, G-L-A-M! And don’t you worry, all products I use are listed within the tutorial steps below…

  • Obviously before you begin, ensure that your skin is freshly cleansed, toned and moisturised. At the moment I’m using the Benefit Totally B.Right! skincare set (£15.50) that I received for Christmas – Benefit promise that you can have your money back if you see no difference in 28 days, so I guess it must be good.

IMG_3299

  • A great base begins with a great primer (one of the major cosmetics lessons I learnt in 2015). I’ve been loving Emite Diamond Heart Illuminating Primer (£25.90), recently – it lights up your complexion whilst still banishing oil. This is what I am wearing in this look.
  • I’m sure you’ve all heard before, but I swear by bareMinerals Complexion Rescue (£26) in shade Vanilla (surprisingly my crazy-pale skin doesn’t even need the lightest shade!). As it is light coverage and perfect for sensitive skin, I find that it looks best when applied with my Real Techniques Expert Face Brush (£9.99).

IMG_3558IMG_3561


Now for the fun parts – contour, eyes and lips! I always like to contour first, so I can sort of ‘complete’ my base, then eyes, then lips.

  • First of all comes dark contour powder – NYX HD Blush in Taupe (£7.99) is the only contour powder not to transform my pale skin into ‘tangerines’ skin. It’s very cool toned, which is perfect for us fair-skinned ladies. I blend this in to the hollows of my cheekbones (top of ear to mid cheek) with Real Techniques Contour Brush (part of the Core Collection (£21.99)) and Real Techniques Sculpting Brush (£9.99), using circular motions.

  • Onto the eyes – I always begin with a base shade of W.O.S from the Naked Basics Palette (£23.00) and then I use Naked 2 from the same palette to begin contouring the eyes. For this particular look, I went for a dramatic eye look, so I contoured further with MAC Cork and MAC Aromatic eyeshadows. After this, I lightened the inner corners for my eyes once more with MAC Cozy Grey and MAC Kitties, then gently tapping MAC Creative Copper onto the centre of each lid. All of these shadows are from my MAC Amber Times Nine Palette (£30.00) and all were applied using brushes from Real Techniques Starter Set (£20.99).
  • Finally for the eyes, I do my brows. Starting with a coat of Miss Sporty Clear Mascara (£2.99) on them, I then start to fill them in using small, hair-like strokes of MAC Brow Pencil in Lingering (£14.00) (the perfect match for my hair colour). With the shape of my eyebrows now sketched, I darken the ends with NYX Brow Gel in Brunette (£5.50) on my Real Techniques Angled Brow Brush for further definition. However, only a very small amount of product and a light hand is required when using the NYX brow gels. They are the perfect dupe for Anastasia Beverly Hills Dipbrow Pomade though! Once again, I coat my brows in clear mascara to keep them in place.

  • Almost finished now… but God forbid we forget the showstopper! A bright red lipstick. It holds the power to glam up ANY look. First of all I prep my lips using Lush’s Bubblegum Lip Scrub (£5.50) to ensure the best application of my chosen lipstick. Then, I line my lips using No7 Precision Lips Pencil in Red (£6.75) before applying Bellapierre Mineral Lipstick in Ruby (£20). This lipstick, which came in this month’s Glossybox is AMAZING – possibly the best formula I’ve ever used. It glides on effortlessly to create an even, gloss-like shade, moisturises the lips and doesn’t even come off after eating and drinking!

So, here’s the finished look…

IMG_3584

I hope this tutorial has helped you decide what cosmetics you’re choosing for NYE or any party occasion really! Are there any other products you’d recommend adding to a party-ready makeup routine? Have you created your own NYE makeup look? Let me know in the comments below!

Emilia x

5 thoughts on “NYE Make-up Tutorial

Leave a Reply

