My Winter Looks

These two looks are all about texture – it’s currently playing a large role in the world of fashion; leather trousers, vinyl coats, suede t-shirts – we’re seeing the lot. So, I’m going to show you my take on the current trends…

Suede and Zips

Winter Fashion Suede Fur CoatWinter Fashion Suede Fur CoatWinter Fashion Suede Fur Coat

As seen above: Jumper – Marks and Spencer, Gilet – DKNY, Jeans – Miss Selfridge, Boots – Dune, Earrings – Accessorize, Ring – Pandora.

Suede and fur in one – amazing! This DKNY gilet/waistcoat/whatever-you-want-to-call-it is something that I recently picked up from Bicester Village (an amazing place with one shop even selling discount MAC!), explaining why I could actually afford it ha. Suede is everywhere this season and what better way to wear it than a not very practical, but totally luxe and glam jacket! Also, ripped jeans are so very ‘in’ at the moment, I’d be surprised if you don’t own a pair! Never mind if adults make stupid jokes about you falling over in them (they need to look-up fashion!) – ripped jeans will elongate your legs and make you a true fashionista. Finally, the zip-detailing and turtleneck of my jumper are both little nods to AW 15 shows. Turtlenecks are literally in every high street store right now and that’s because they suit EVERYONE; men and women, young and old. Zip-detailing can be tricky – you don’t want it to look tacky, hence I went for only a couple of zips, but, watch out, zips are replacing buttons fast at the minute!


Corduroy Blues

Winter Fashion Wool CoatWinter Fashion Wool Coat Winter Fashion Corduroy DressWinter Fashion Corduroy DressWinter Fashion Corduroy Dress

 

As seen above: Earrings, Ring and Boots as before, Jumper – Marks and Spencer, Dress – Topshop, Coat – Next.

See, what was I saying about zips?! They’re all over the shop in AW 15 – this one even adds a hint of geometrics, another major trend in accessories. Another polo neck – they’re my winter go-to, the need for a scarf disappears! Corduroy, however, is the focus of this outfit –  very ’90s. I remember having a pair of pink corduroy trousers as a kid, when the influence of the ’90s hadn’t quite seeped out of the Noughties yet! However, most of all, I love the shape of this dress. It fits my rather curvy figure very well, but I think it would also give more rectangle-shaped girls an amazing illusion of curves, with it’s buckle-belt. Last, but definitely not least, the coat – oh how I adore coats. Each season, I have to have a new coat/jacket; it’s verging on an obsession and it’s even spread to my boyfriend! This coat is wool and polyester and boxy shaped, which is better for slender girls really, but I just loved the blue colour too much… Whoops.


 

What’s your take on the winter trends? Are you loving or loathing them? Let me know below in the comments!

Emilia x

7 thoughts on “My Winter Looks

    • emiliahurrell December 6, 2015 / 9:09 pm

      Thank you lovely! I know right, the colour is what made me buy it – it’s perfect for winter!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

