What’s On My Birthday List This Year?

As much as I love surprises, I find that my friends and family whinge at me an awful amount if I don’t give them some sort of guidance towards what I would like for birthdays/christmases. Honestly, opening gifts that I have no idea what they are is much more fun for me than opening stuff which I’ve instructed people to buy me. However, I usually have to settle for somewhere in between. I’ve decided to share this with you guys because, well it’s my 16th in just two days and why the hell not! Now, I know that this is a stupidly long/expensive list, but the point is that I’m still surprised by what is bought for me (because to expect to receive all of it would be mad).

Earrings (I love the Lisa Angel ones)

After finally ‘manning-up’ and having my ears pierced this summer (which, by the way, was so painless, that I now want my seconds done) – I am obsessed with adorable little earrings. I’ve mentioned it previously – but simple, geometric shapes scream style to me. It’s not all about the glitz and glam when it comes to jewellery – although, as you’ll soon see, I have fallen in love with yet another pair of Vivienne Westwood earrings… Whoops.

Olay Regenerist 3 Point Super Cleansing System

As I’ve gone into my teenage years, my skin has become more and more combination – dry but spotty! What a pain! However, I found out earlier this year (thanks to Neutrogena) that exfoliating actually does my complexion wonders, and I feel as if this would be the perfect product to assist me with my regime. It’s at the lower end of the ‘cleansing brush’ market, at around half the price of Clarisonics and Foreos. But, as I’ve discovered from the reviews, each product, no matter how expensive, has similar varied reviews. Some people love them, some people claim they do nothing but irritate their skin. So, if your going to give these pieces of beauty tech a trial, I’d suggest going for the cheaper option, such as this Olay brush.

Benefit Roller lash

I’ve had the teeniest tester of this (thanks ELLE Magazine!) for about 6 months now; I just can’t admit to myself that it’s practically empty. I love it too much. Giving my lashes the perfect curl, separating each one and and overall flattering natural look – I have never loved a mascara more. Personally, I’d put this over Benefit They’re Real any day.

Clarins Mission Perfection Serum

IMG_3946-copy-1024x683

Whilst trialling this when making another order from Clarins, I was stunned to see that it actually did what it was supposed to. I mean, you’d expect it to for it’s hefty price tag, but still WOW! It smoothed my skin and the evenness of my skin tone was like never before – for someone with such pale skin, this is a big problem for me. Hence, I’d love to treat myself to a high-end product, especially seeing as it’s my birthday.

Daniel Sandler Watercolour Fluid Blusher in Truth/Angel

daniel-sandler-watercolour-blush

Confession: I am actually AWFUL at applying blusher. One minute there’s too little on my cheeks and the next I’m looking like a clown having a hot flush. Bourjois Blush Exclusif helps me a little with this issue, but I think a super-blendable liquid blush could be perfect for me.

Topshop Cable Knit Scarf in Mustard

19R34IOCH_2_large

I am a rather avid scarf collector too – my favourite’s got to be my vintage Salvatore Ferragamo scarf, but it’s just not practical for winter – so I’ve decided I need a fashionably-tasselled, chunky winter scarf to add to the collection! And what better than a reasonably priced Topshop one.

Ecote Sherpa Gilet

5133331357223_001_g

I’ve always wanted a sherpa jacket – think classic aviator, but the camel tones and shape simply don’t suit me. So, I’ve opted for this mix of a sleeveless jacket and an aviator jacket in a wear-with-anything black shade. Also, it’s not RIDICULOUSLY expensive, like many other suede and sherpa jackets. And the sherpa is fake, so it’s animal friendly (which is extremely important to me)!

Vivienne Westwood Candy Earrings Light Topaz

Screen Shot 2015-10-27 at 17.08.33

OKAY, maybe Connor did only just buy me one pair of gorgeous Viv Westwood earrings, but these are new season and they’re stunning! Gold-tones to suit super-fair or super-dark complexions and a modern ‘climber’ style – and at only Β£55 I NEED THEM!!

Next Crombie Coat in Blue

Screen Shot 2015-10-27 at 17.34.42

I’ve been swooning over this coat for ages now, the colour just suits me so well and it looks much more expensive than it actually is (Β£65). Hopefully, people have got the message from my frequent stroking of this coat when I see it in Next stores that I simply cannot live without it…

Real Techniques Expert Face Brush, Miracle Complexion Sponges and Stippling Brush

There has come a time when my Boots foundation brushes that I used when I was 12 to badly apply Dream Matte Mousse foundation just don’t cut it anymore. The MAC set which I received last year for Christmas has helped me with applying my make-up well, but I’ve heard great things about these three Real Techniques products in particular. I’d love to give a few of them a try.

Hollister Supersoft Knit Jean Leggings in Medium Wash

Screen Shot 2015-10-27 at 17.39.51

Fact of life: I cannot wear jeans since I’ve discovered jeggings (aka the most comfortable trousers in the world). I practically live in my Uniqlo jeggings and Hollister jeans are of great quality –  so what better purchase to make than Hollister Jean Leggings?!

Mac Honeylove

94abbd42670dc2dc64cbc02755ad3fdd

I adore my MAC ‘Kinda Sexy’ Lipstick and MAC Subculture Lipliner which Evie bought me for Christmas last year (check out Ev’s new blog at www.evieoliverphotography.wordpress.com and Honeylove is a similar, but more natural tone for my ghostly pale skin. I need to keep searching for the perfect nude lipstick (the new Rimmel collection is on my hitlist too!).

A record player

maxresdefault-1

I love music and gigs, but I just don’t listen to music enough! I feel as if a cheap-ish record player and a couple of my favourite albums on record could get me dancing and singing around my room again.

What do you think of my selection? Do you have any recommendations?

And, of course I’ll be letting you guys know what I actually get for my 16th asap, but for now, I’m off to enjoy my last couple of days as a 15 year old…

Emilia x

4 thoughts on “What’s On My Birthday List This Year?

  1. danniilowe October 27, 2015 / 6:37 pm

    Hope you get at least one or two of these things or something similar and equally wonderful. I agree that saying to people “I would like X” is pretty tough and surprises are so much fun (unless they don’t really know you and get something awful haha)

    Liked by 1 person

    • emiliahurrell October 27, 2015 / 6:56 pm

      I feel so bad almost “demanding” certain things from people, but I agree that it must be hard for them to buy me gifts without ANY sort of guideline.

      Like

Leave a Reply

