Autumnal Make-up Look

As much as I hate cold weather, I have to admit; I love winter tones. Summer’s bright tones simply do not suit my ghostly pale skin. However, I do have to be careful not to over-do the winter colours, otherwise I’m completely washed out. So, after playing around a lot with my new makeup recently, I’ve formulated a gorgeous little autumnal make-up look for you to try! Also, I understand that my skin tone isn’t all that common, so I’ve included a section with alternative products for every skin tone. Take a look!

Tools used: MAC Keepsakes Collection (contains 187SE Duo Fibre Face Brush130SE Short Duo Fibre Brush286SE Duo Fibre Tapered Blending Brush287SE Duo Fibre Eye Shadow Brush), Real Techniques Core Collection (£21.99), Real Techniques Starter Set (£21.99), Real Techniques Retractable Kabuki Brush (£11.99), Body Shop Concealer Brush (£9.00) and cotton buds (or q-tips for you Americans out there).

Clothing and Accessories: Lace-up Top from Topshop (shout-out to Grace for showing me this beauty) and Vivienne Westwood Earrings bought for me by my wonderful boyfriend.

Here’s the first peek! Let’s start with the basics. First of all, I have used bareMinerals Complexion Rescue in Vanilla (£26.00) with a little of this STAR of a primer – No7 Stay Perfect Shine-reducing Primer (£12.50). These two products regularly feature in my beauty posts and that’s simply because I love them so much. Complexion Rescue is especially good for my skin in winter, due to it’s mega-hydrating qualities. Under my eyes is another moisture-rich product; MAC Select Moisturecover Concealer in NW15 (£15.50) – the palest shade for the palest skin. Next, contouring around the cheekbones, nose and hairline  with the help of NYX HD Blush in Taupe (£7.99) and YSL Touche Éclat (£25.00) on my cupids bow, end of my nose and waterline. As always, eyebrows are filled in with MAC Brow Pencil in Lingering (£14.00) and Naked 2 from the Urban Decay Naked Basics Palette and tamed with Miss Sporty Clear Mascara (£2.99).

Now, onto the interesting part – eyes! I use my normal primer (£12.50) on my eyelids for a shadow primer as I’m yet to purchase a primer specifically for eyes (I’d love the Urban Decay Eyeshadow Primer Potion or Too Faced Shadow Insurance). Then, my eye look is a combination of the Urban Decay Naked Basics palette (£23.00) and Make-up Revolution Redemption Palette in Iconic 3 (£4.00), the warmest of all. To compliment the warm berry tones of my lips I’ve chosen to use taupe and dusky pink shades from the palette, as shown below, using the Real Techniques Starter Set (£21.99) to blend them together.

To widen the eyes and achieve the glamorous look I was after, I lined my lower lash line with the deeper pink sparkle from the Make-up Revolution palette (£4.00). After this, a little bit of my MAC brow pencil (£14.00) on the upper lash line (shh, I know it’s cheating). Then, I applied one coat of Benefit Rollerlash (£19.50) to curl and shape my lashes with Chanel Le Volume de Chanel in Noir (£25.00) over the top to produce mega-long lashes.

You can see that as we’ve moved away from the warmer weather, I’ve decided to ditch the nudes (MAC Kinda Sexy (£15.50) is my go-to) and gone for a deep red, berry look. I would describe it as a “I’ve just downed a bottle of champagne, bought a lion and killed my filthy rich husband” colour. In normal adjectives, I’d probably just call it ‘glam’. This show-stealing lip colour is achieved by layering NYX Soft Matte Liquid Lip Cream in Transylvania (£5.50) (which I’ve reviewed here) over Max Factor Colour Collection Lipstick in Midnight Plum (£3.99) and using cotton buds soaked in  L’Oreal Micellar Water (£3.33) to tidy up the edges. I’m in DIRE need of a berry coloured lip-liner, you see.

Alternative products for all skin tones:

Beige/Tan:

In my eyes, if should be super easy to find foundations if your skin is this sort of colour – I envy you greatly. Instead of having to opt for brands which do extremely pale tones (like Nars and bareMinerals), you could pretty much go for anything! Also, in terms of contouring, many high-street brands should be perfect for you, not too orange toned like they are for me. I love the look of the Smashbox (£35.00) and Barry M (£6.49) contour palettes for you guys. Lip-wise, you could pull off a slightly brighter red than the one shown here – maybe this Ardency Inn lippy in Lovecat ($25.00). For the eyes, you could simply opt for the slightly deeper shades of the Make-up Revolution Palette (£4.00) or the blinc Shadow Fusion Neutral Palette (£39.00) is gorgeous.

 Medium/Deep:

If you’re looking for moisture in your foundation, like me, I’d suggest trying Bobbi Brown’s Moisture Rich Foundation (£31.50). It comes in a rather wide range of tones (although there’s not as many dark shades as I would hope), suitable for most Asian/African-American skin tones and includes SPF15 – bonus! As for contouring, I love the Cover FX Contour Kit in Deep (it’s not actually that dark) sold in House of Fraser for £40.00. For the lips, I feel as if the shade I’m wearing suits this skin tone perfectly too – berry all the way. Eye colours should be darker – smokey eye is your best friend. Bourjois Eye Pearls Quintet Eyeshadow in No. 64 (£3.99 on Amazon) is a wonderful high street choice!

Deep:

Take a look at Nars’ foundations (£32.00), they have one of the biggest range of shades in the business – alternatively, try Urban Decay Weightless Ultra Definition Liquid Makeup (£27.00), which has 3 darker shades for different types of undertones. Contouring can be a big issue for ladies with dark skin and it shouldn’t have to be! Anyway, Illamasqua have solved this problem with their Gel Sculpt stick in Silhouette (£22.00). Maybe choose an even darker lip colour and even more purple in the colour would look great on this dark skin tone – try Chanel Rouge Allure Lipstick in Rouge Noir (£26.00). For the perfect evening look – I recommend Laura Geller The Wearables Baked Eyeshadow Palette (£28.00) or for a slightly more bank-friendly option, try Sleek I-Divine Eyeshadow Palette in Au Naturel (£7.99).

Hope I’ve given you some A/W inspo!

Emilia x

6 thoughts on “Autumnal Make-up Look

  1. eringuytonxxx October 25, 2015 / 6:59 am

    Looking lovely as always Emilia. I tried to Urban Decay eyeshadow primer and I don’t think it does anything at all, you should get the MAC pro longwear paintpot in Painterly, it’s stopped my eyeshadow from creasing and it lasted my eyeshadow all night at prom xxx

    Liked by 1 person

    • emiliahurrell October 25, 2015 / 8:46 am

      Ooo – sounds good! I’ll give it a whirl when my bank balance looks a little less unhealthy 😂xxx

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

