Winter Reading List

Reading is probably not something that most people do very often, I mean, it’s time-consuming and you have to be fully into it or your concentration wanders. However, sometimes, often when I’m in the holidays, I find that reading becomes one of my favourite things to do; to relax, forget and simply pass time. You’ve been looking forward to time off work or school, whatever it may be, for weeks now, yet by the time you’re a few days into it, you’re bored as hell. Typical. The October half-term is just three days away for me and not far away for any of us and before we know it, it’ll be Christmas; so I thought I’d give you a little list of things which I suggest reading to pass that time. So, snuggle up, with a Wispa Gold hot chocolate (HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!!) and your favourite onesie. I’d love to be able to do so myself, but, I’ve got to read a book, “Purple Hibiscus” , for my GCSEs… That’s not how reading’s meant to be at all – is it? Reading for the sake of analysis and exams. It’s supposed to be for enjoyment, for crying out loud! Oh, how I hate you English GCSE! Anyways, here you go:

  1. Finding Violet Park by Jenny Valentine

For the mystery-loving, Jenny Valentine is the best author out there. Her books will have you reading at a pace faster than Usain Bolt. Seriously.

2. The Knife Of Never Letting Go by Patrick Ness

You would’ve thought that with a title like this, this is a very boy-orientated book, but NOOO how wrong that view is. This book is genuinely the only book to ever make me cry. And it’s part of an equally enchanting trilogy – yippee!

3. Noughts and Crosses by Malorie Blackman

In this book, Blackman alludes to the historical problems of racism in society, tackling both whilst playing with the idea of a “Romeo-and-Juliet” style relationship, that will have your heart both sinking and thumping in your chest.

4. http://amelialiana.com

I love everything about this gorgeous, London-lass’ beauty, fashion and lifestyle blog. Great quality photography, reviews and interviews with every fashion and beauty famous face! Plenty to keep you entertained on a chilly, winter afternoon.

5. We Were Liars by E.Lockhart

I read this whilst by the pool in Las Vegas last summer and, honestly, it was so difficult to hold my emotions back; this book makes you turn from laughing to crying to utterly bemused in MILLISECONDS! A total emotional roller coaster with the most shocking end, you must read it.

6. Bobbi Brown Make-up Manual by Bobbi Brown

This one’s for the beauty lovers out there, which I know many of you are… Tips, tricks, looks to try! Think of it as the equivalent to a cook book, but instead of making tasty dishes, you’re making glamorous looks.

7. The Shock of The Fall by Nathan Filer

After a friend recommending this to me, I decided to give it a try and GOD how glad I am that I did. This book is certainly on the John Green level, if not higher; so beautifully written and structured and gives an insight into very important mental health issues.

8. http://www.esteelalonde.com

Essie Button? Heard of her, right? You must have done! Famous youtuber, awesome blogger on just about anything, it goes without saying that a website by this woman is a must read. Sophisticated and classy with top-notch photography and I adore her hilariously witty style.

9. Humans Of New York by Brandon Stanton

A photography books, filled with stunningly satisfying shots of people from all backgrounds, but ALL in New York; or, the most magical city in the world, as I like to call it. Flick through endless times for inspiration.

10. Bridget Jones: Mad About The Boy by Helen Fielding 

Finally, who can beat a good Bridget Jones read? Like practically every other woman out there, as soon I heard about the release of this, I ran to the nearest bookstore (ha, what a joke, I just ordered it off my Kindle, of course). And, let me tell you, this book does NOT fail to disappoint! Keep your eyes peeled for the new movie coming next year!

Feature image: Photography by Alex Lawlor. Check out some more of his damn awesome photography here.  Modelling by Evie Oliver; see her here.

One thought on “Winter Reading List

Leave a Reply

