My Beauty Wishlist

Alright, I probably do have way too much make-up already and for a girl who usually opts for very natural looks, it may seem a little stupid that I have such an obsession with make-up. The only issue is, like many others, I don’t have the bank balance to fund this. So, this results in me making notes all year of the luxury products that I just HAVE to try but just CAN’T bring myself to splash out on and along the way dropping hints to family and friends. The thing is, I’ve never once published one of these lists of mine on Irregular Collection and whilst having one of my ‘extremely thoughtful showers’ today (it seems that all my geniosity comes out when I’m standing stark naked in a luke-warm drizzle, how great) I thought why the hell not. You guys could help me, tell me what products I definitely should and shouldn’t be wishing for – maybe even suggest some new ones (sorry bank balance)! Here goes; why don’t you take a look? You never know, you may have to add one of my suggestions to your own wish list!

Screen Shot 2015-10-15 at 20.14.10    1) Real Techniques Expert Face Brush £6.48

I already use a wide range of Real Techniques brushes in my everyday routine – the Retractable Kabuki Brush and the Contour Brush to name a few, yet, after ‘lending’ my Buffing Brush to my mum, I have been left with nothing to ‘blur’ my make-up to achieve a smooth base. Hence, I’d love the Real Techniques Expert Face Brush to do this job, as it’s supposedly ‘perfect for blending cream/liquid foundation’. And at such a good price on Amazon, I think this is a steal!

2) NYX Brow Gel $7

Okay, I know, it’s in dollars; that’s because NYX is a pain in the butt to get hold of in the UK. As I’ve said previously, Very stocks a lot of NYX and luckily this too, for just £7 – however, there is low stock and they’re selling very fast. Apparently the best alternative to Anastasia Beverly Hills Dip Brow Pomade (which I would also LOVE to own) and for half of the price, I’m happy to try it.

3) Too Faced Shadow Insurance £14

Previously, I’ve been very skeptical about the point in primers, like this one, but after recently purchasing my first primer (see it in use here) –  hell they are worth it! My make-up actually STAYS on my face; it’s unheard of – right?! Anyway, this particular brand are a favourite for eye products (you should check out their amazing eye palettes), explaining why I’m so keen to try THIS shadow primer.

4) Blinc Shadow Fusion Neutral Palette £39

I hadn’t heard of this brand until a couple of nights ago when I was on a boredom-fueled Amazon browse, but WOW the tones in this just stun me, they’re too pretty. I feel that they’d suit my ghostly pale skin-tone well and I’m in dire need of a luxury brand eye shadow palette for special occasions. I would absolutely love to try this – has anyone got any views on this brand, as I know next to nothing about it?

5) MAC Studio Waterweight SPF 30 Foundation £25.50

Ohhh MAC, good ol’ MAC, the classic… MAC have recently brought out this new foundation and whilst I’m not usually a fan of their foundations due to their medium-full coverage, this is a new type of foundation specifically designed to feel ‘water weight’ on the skin. Also, there’s the bonus of SPF, which for pale people like me, is a life-saver in summer. Not an extortionate price for a quality foundation, but obviously I need to try it first – expensive foundations certainly aren’t something I’d impulse buy!

6) TIGI Bedhead Recovery Tween Shampoo and Conditioner Duo £20.95

Every time I go to the hairdresser (JARAH fyi), this is what they wash my hair with. We all wish for that ‘just out of the salon’ look every day of the week, so I need this product in my life! It’s a lot to spend on hair products in my opinion, but sometimes you need to treat yourself a little. Another brand I’d love to try on my ever-so-sensitive scalp and mane of hair is Dermalogica shampoos.

7) Daniel Sandler Watercolour Fluid Blusher in Angel £15.50

Blusher seems to be quite a challenge for my heavy-handed self and I much prefer moisturising liquids and creams than drying powders; therefore, I feel that liquid blush would be a rather good option for me. Daniel Sandler is a very well respected name in luxury beauty and there’s a myriad of blush tones to choose from.

8) Nails INC Gel Effect Nail Polish in Colville Mews £15

Confession time, I HATE splashing out on nail polish because, at the moment, I’m not allowed to wear it in the week – meaning that I also don’t bother at the weekends because I’m lazy. But, a classic nude colour suits everyone and if it’s a staple, it’s worth the spending. Personally, I’ve found Nails INC and Mavala to be much better than some of the more expensive nail products like Chanel or Dior for example –  give it a whirl.

9) Urban Decay All-nighter Make-up Setting Spray £21

Blah blah, alright, I know I don’t really need a product which has ‘all-nighter’ in the name seeing as it’s hard to be a party animal when there’s not parties to party at. However, even with my primer, my make-up’s staying power in extreme heat/extreme rain is pretty rubbish – which is understandable, but most definitely undesirable. So, after hearing that this is THE setting spray to buy, even though the price tag’s pretty hefty, I have the urge to get my hands on it. Other favourable and similar products are: NYX Makeup Setting Spray, Kiko Face Make-up Fixer £7.90.

What do you think of my wish list?

16 thoughts on “My Beauty Wishlist

  1. courteneynoonan October 15, 2015 / 8:23 pm

    The RT Expert Face Brush is so good! It blends concealer in so well! x

    Like

    • emiliahurrell October 15, 2015 / 8:27 pm

      Thank you for your advice! I heard such good reviews about it and I’m desperate for a new brush to my collection. x

      Liked by 1 person

  2. thechicdoctor October 15, 2015 / 8:25 pm

    Great selection ! Didnt know that NYX is twice expensive more anastasia beverly hills ..

    Like

    • emiliahurrell October 15, 2015 / 8:32 pm

      Ahh, I think you may have misread my wording – in fact NYX is half the price of ABH, not the other way around.

      Liked by 1 person

      • thechicdoctor October 15, 2015 / 8:34 pm

        Yes this is what It is in US , I thought it is different in UK . 🙂 both products work great !

        Liked by 1 person

      • emiliahurrell October 15, 2015 / 8:35 pm

        I’d love to be able to try them both – but unfortunately, both are hard to get hold of in the UK – have you tried either of the products?

        Liked by 1 person

      • thechicdoctor October 15, 2015 / 8:38 pm

        Yes , I have them both .. My sis and I love brow products.. I personally prefer benefit over both brands .

        Like

      • thechicdoctor October 15, 2015 / 8:39 pm

        But my sister prefers nyx , and it works great for her n mum !

        Liked by 1 person

  3. a October 15, 2015 / 9:00 pm

    I use that buffing brush almost every day! Some days I used the beauty blender, but that brush is really good.

    Like

    • emiliahurrell October 15, 2015 / 9:14 pm

      Oh brilliant!! I was considering the beauty blender but I know that bacteria builds up in sponges even easier than on brushes? Would you say you have that problem with the beauty blender?

      Like

      • a October 15, 2015 / 9:22 pm

        No, but I wash mine with a soft soap after using and use alcohol to rinse it once a week! I have acne prone skin and it doesn’t seem to effect it!

        Liked by 1 person

      • emiliahurrell October 15, 2015 / 9:31 pm

        Sounds good! I also have teenagery spot-prone skin, so I definitely wouldnt want to increase this problem, but I will probably purchase a blending sponge in the near future; thanks for the advice!

        Liked by 1 person

  4. Amanda Ross October 16, 2015 / 1:04 am

    The Bed Head products are awesome, I’ve always been a fan of their Dumb Blonde conditioner and shampoo. Great choices! I have some wish list items as well that you might enjoy- check it out!

    awaywerun.com

    Liked by 1 person

    • emiliahurrell October 16, 2015 / 7:03 am

      Yeah idk what’s in those hair products but its AMAZING!! Sure, I’ll check it out!

      Like

Leave a comment