How To Create A Natural Dewy Base

WARNING, this may be a very simple make-up tutorial, but DO NOT ASSUME for one second that I actually know what on earth I’m on about. Okay, maybe I know a little bit, but I am sure as hell no expert.

Anyway, today, I will be showing you my way to create a simple, dewy base. This is specifically designed for sensitive, combination skin. All make-up is applied using the MAC Keepsakes Mineralize Brush Set, which includes a variety of foundation and concealer brushes made from goat hair and synthetic fibres.

Screen Shot 2015-10-09 at 16.51.27

 1) Right, so, here we are, step UNO; my lovely (ha) bare face. As you can see, I have no MAJOR skin issues, but still a few spots and areas of redness like most of us have. I have been sure to thoroughly cleanse my face prior to applying any make-up, however, I have used a pore-refining scrub by Neutrogena to reduce the chances of any make-up clogging my pores and causing a spot party on my face (this happens a lot for me). After allowing my daily moisturiser to sink-in, I applied a blob of shine-reducing primer, to make sure this make-up stays where it’s supposed to. When foundation’s £20+, who can afford for it to slip straight off?!

2) Next to apply a pea-sized amount bareMinerals latest invention; ‘Complexion Rescue’. As the product claims, it hydrates skin, so if your skin is already oily, maybe skip the moisturiser if you’re using this product. Personally, my skin can only cope with very very light coverage, due to it’s ridiculous amount of sensitivity, so this product is perfect for me. Also, it comes in a range of 10 colours to suit almost any skin tone; ‘Vanilla’ is perfect for me, even though I’m very pale and there is a tone lighter.

Screen Shot 2015-10-09 at 16.49.59

3) Here is ‘Complexion Rescue’ blended in. As you can see, I am still looking a little shiny, although it covers my blemishes extremely well for how light it is and reduces the dullness of my skin.

4) To ‘awaken’ my face, hide my dark circles and highlight my face, I applied my MAC Select Moisturecover Concealer in NW15 in dots to the underneath of my eyes and my brow-bone, as well as the middle of my nose, my cupid’s bow and my chin. I then blended this out with my brush that is incredibly similar to MAC Short Duo Fibre Brush and went over with the slightly larger MAC Duo Fibre Brush to get an airbrushed, ‘no-streaks’ finish.

Screen Shot 2015-10-09 at 16.50.56

5) After blending in the concealer, I brushed gently over my T-zone and any shiny areas with Clinique Blended Face Powder in Invisible Blend using a kabuki brush to mattify, without reducing the natural glow of Complexion Rescue.

Screen Shot 2015-10-09 at 16.51.12

6) Finally, to enhance the natural bone structure of my face (which for me is basically none), I used my Real Techniques Retractable Kabuki Brush to apply both MUA ‘Undress Your Skin Shimmer Highlighter’ and Shiseido Bronzer in Light. Then, I dabbed a teeny bit of Bourjois Blush Exclusif onto the apples of my cheeks and blended outwards with my fingers and my Short-fibre brush. To ensure everything was evenly blended, I quickly brushed over my face with the larger Duo-fibre Brush once more.

And HERE are my results! (I have touched up my eyebrows with MAC Eye Brows eyebrow pencil in Lingering and added a layer of Benefit Rollerlash to my lashes.)

So, finally, here’s a round up of all the bits and pieces involved:

Brushes:

On the left are my Mac Mineralize Keepsakes Brush Set (I think these were limited edition, but the brushes are available separately, here, as duo-fibre ones) and on the right is Real Techniques Retractable Kabuki Brush, Real Techniques Brow Brush (part of the Starter Set) and Real Techniques Contour Brush (part of the Core Collection).

Make-up:

IMG_2471

From left to right: No7 Stay Perfect Shine Reducing Primer, MAC Eyebrow Pencil in Lingering, MUA Undress Your Skin Shimmer Highlighter, Benefit Rollerlash Mascara, Clinique Blended Face Powder in Invisible Blend, Bourjois Blush Exclusif, bareMinerals Complexion Rescue in Vanilla, MAC Select Moisture Cover Concealer in NW15 and Shiseido Bronzer in Light.

Alternatives and additions:

IMG_2475

If you prefer a heavier, but still dewy feel, I strongly advise trying Rimmel Lasting Finish Nude Foundation (I use shade Ivory 100), also, if you like liquid highlighters, No7’s Skin Illuminator works a treat. If you need to glam it up a bit, I ADORE Makeup Revolution’s Redemption Palette Iconic 3, it’s the perfect dupe for the Naked palettes by Urban Decay and at £4 it’s a no-brainer. You could also add a stronger mascara, such as Chanel’s ‘Le Volume de Chanel’ mascara seen here. If you prefer powder blushes, try this little beauty by Clinique, Blush Powder in shade Bashful Plum, just use a light hand! Also, if you’re adding a little contour, my new go-to is NYX HD Blush in Taupe. Finally, if you’re the kind of girl that can’t leave the house without lipstick, try out MAC Kinda Sexy or, for a brighter shade, MAC Pleasure-seeker with the MAC Subculture Lip-Liner.

Emilia x

One thought on “How To Create A Natural Dewy Base

Leave a Reply

