NYX Cosmetics Soft Matte Lip Cream and HD Blush Review

Whoops it appears that I have purchased yet more make-up and whoops it appears that I’m blogging about it instead of doing my Physics revision… Oh well. It’s just too important to dismiss! So, despite having about £1.50 to my name for the past month, I have made it through (HURRAH!) with a little assistance from Depop and Ebay. And now, well as soon as I have any money, what do I do? I spend it, OF COURSE. However, I am rather proud of the fact that I’ve opted to treat myself to a fairly non-bank-breaking brand this month. This brand is the much loved NYX Cosmetics. Renowned for their AMAZING dupes, specifically the liquid lipsticks, primers and blushers, I thought I’d give ’em a whirl. The only real issue was that NYX products are ridiculously hard to get hold of here in the UK. But, lo and behold, Very came to my rescue –  pretty much every NYX product available and I didn’t even have to pay for shipping, even though it’s an America-based brand. Wonderful! Anyway, I’ll stop babbling and show you my purchases…

IMG_2393

So, here we go, my two little purchases, on the left is HD Blush in Taupe and on the right is Soft Matte Lip Cream in Transylvania. These pieces were only £7 each from Very, a very reasonable price for make-up now-a-days, yet the quality is not compromised in the slightest! Let’s take a look at each individually…

IMG_2442

Okay, so, first up is the HD Blush in Taupe (£7), a much adored shade. Personally, having such pale skin, I find it extremely hard to participate in the beauty ‘must’ of the moment; contouring. However, that’s where this product comes to the rescue. After months and months of research into products that would make contouring less ‘clown-like’ more ‘wow-look-at-those-cheekbones’ for me, I’d come across people raving about the wonders of this product multiple times. Other favourites seemed to be MAC Pro Longwear Blush in Baby Don’t Go (£20.50) and Nars Contour Blush in Olympia (£30), but with these both reaching more than twice the price of NYX Taupe, I decided to try the cheapest option first and work from there. BOY DID THAT PAY OFF! Upon my first application of Taupe, I loved it immediately; unlike other contour products it was miraculously cool-toned and didn’t make me look like I had a stripe of fake-tan down each cheek. Also, it was surprisingly pigmented for such a bargain product and very easy to blend, even for someone as useless with a make-up brush as me. Take a look at the results below…

Make-up: No7 Stay Perfect Shine Free Primer (£12.50), bareMinerals Complexion Rescue Tinted Hydrating Gel Cream in Vanilla (£26.00), MAC Select Moisturecover Concealer in NW15 (£15.50), NYX HD Blush in Taupe (£7), Chanel ‘Le Volume de Chanel’ Mascara in Noir (£25), MAC Brow Pencil in Lingering (£14) set with Miss Sporty Clear Mascara (£2.99). All applied with MAC Keepsakes Studio Brush Kit (£40/£50) and Real Techniques Contour Brush  (£21.99 with Core Collection) and Retractable Kabuki Brush (£11.99).

IMG_2388

Now onto the Soft Matte Lip Cream (£7) – I would say this is very, very similar in texture to the Anastasia Beverly Hills Liquid Lipstick ($20.00), but, again, half the price. Already, within just a couple of hours of wear, I was receiving compliments on this products and it’s staying power is crazily good; you’d probably have to bathe in makeup remover to actually get it off. Anyway, this is Transylvania, the darkest shade –  I’d describe it as a classically autumnal ‘berry red’, although it is possible to build up to a deep purple shade with multiple coats. Also, this has been dubbed the perfect dupe for MAC Cyber (£15.50), with a little more of a matte finish. My only piece of advice would be to make sure you apply a lip-liner when using this product as it’s hard to achieve an even outline with the wand alone. Here’s how it looks on (lovely car selfies):

5 thoughts on “NYX Cosmetics Soft Matte Lip Cream and HD Blush Review

  1. Arielle September 27, 2015 / 3:17 pm

    Love the lippie, it is such a gorgeous Fall colour! ❤

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

